Integrating spatial thinking definitely serves many purposes in my future classroom. It creates an awareness of one's surroundings and also helps make the lessons come to life. Connecting my curriculum to the globe gives the lesson that added extra that makes it realistic to the student. When they can see the squalor someone was living in, or the destruction of a catastrophic event, or just how far away on the globe two places are, they really become knowledgeable of the logistics behind the decisions made in that point in history. Geospatial technologies such as Google Earth definitely has benefits in my history, political, and geographical content area because of the features listed above, and it also is more engaging than just pointing on a globe or 2-dimensional map. In all, I will likely be using both the lesson I have created as well as developing new lessons with Google Earth because of the added benefits it offers to my students.



Leave a Reply.